

July 31, 2008

Dear Senator/Representative:

On behalf of our millions of members and all American consumers suffering from high energy prices, we urge you to allow the current restrictions on much-needed American energy resources to expire as scheduled under current law. Unless Congress acts affirmatively to prevent it, October 1st, 2008, will be a day fittingly described as "American Energy Freedom Day" as those restrictions expire.

According to estimates from the Department of the Interior, the Outer Continental Shelf contains 86 billion barrels of oil and 420 trillion cubic feet of natural gas, and there is an additional 800 billion barrels of recoverable oil locked in oil shale in Colorado, Utah, and Wyoming.

Now that President Bush has lifted the executive branch moratorium, the only thing prohibiting development of these energy resources is a temporary ban that is set to expire at the end of this fiscal year. On October 1, 2008, domestic energy resources will no longer be held off-limits by the federal government.

We urge you to oppose the creation of any new moratorium for fiscal 2009, even if it is attached to what some people in Washington consider "must-pass" legislation. We further urge you to sustain a presidential veto of any measure to impose a new moratorium.

A strong majority of the American public sees drilling expansion as necessary to reduce fuel prices now and in the long run. Creating new restrictions on domestic energy development would fly in the face of public opinion and exacerbate the pain every American citizen feels at the pump.

Sincerely,

Tim Phillips President Americans for Prosperity

Jim Pfaff State Director Americans for Prosperity-Colorado

Adam Guillette State Director Americans for Prosperity-Florida

Grover G. Norquist President Americans for Tax Reform

Dave Ryan Executive Director American Solutions for Winning the Future

Fred Smith President Competitive Enterprise Institute

David A. Keene Chairman American Conservative Union

Thomas Schatz President Council for Citizens Against Government Waste

Duane Parde President National Taxpayers Union

Morton Blackwell Virginia Republican National Committeeman

Cathie Adams President Texas Eagle Forum Texas Republican National Committeewoman-elect

Jim Martin President 60 Plus Association

Brian M. Johnson Executive Director Alliance for Worker Freedom Susan A. Carleson Chairman & CEO American Civil Rights Union

George Landrith Co-Chair American Environmental Coalition

Dick Patten President American Family Business Institute

Ryan Ellis Executive Director American Shareholders Association

Amy Ridenour Vice Chairman Americans for the Preservation of Liberty

Barney T. Bishop III President & Chief Executive Officer Associated Industries of Florida

Terrence Scanlon President Capital Research Center

Andrew F. Quinlan President Center for Freedom and Prosperity

Jeffrey Mazzella President Center for Individual Freedom

Doug Bandow Vice President Citizen Outreach Project

Joe Andrews Vice Chairman Citizens for Responsible Government

Dave Bossie President Citizens United

Joel Mandelman Chairman Clean Oceans Technology Coalition

Andrew B. Roth Director of Government Affairs The Club for Growth Hamilton R. Hanson President Committees of 1000's (St. Petersburg, Florida)

John Hallman President Florida Taxpayers Union

U.S. Senator Malcolm Wallop (ret.) Founder & Chairman Frontiers of Freedom

Jon Caldara President Independence Institute

Michelle D. Bernard President and CEO Independent Women's Voice

Andrew Langer President Institute for Liberty

J. Robert McClure, III President and CEO The James Madison Institute

David A. Ridenour Vice President National Center for Public Policy Research

Lew Uhler President The National Tax Limitation Committee

Will Pitts Republican Liberty Caucus of Florida

William Haygood Shaker President Rule of Law Committee

Karen Kerrigan President & CEO Small Business & Entrepreneurship Council

Jim Sims President/CEO Western Business Roundtable