

August 21, 2007

An Open Letter to the President and Congress: Taxpayers Oppose Hike in the Federal Gas Tax

Dear President Bush and Members of Congress:

On behalf of the millions of taxpayers represented by our respective organizations, we write in opposition to proposals that would increase the existing 18.4 cent-per-gallon federal excise tax on gasoline.

One legislative plan promoted by Representative James Oberstar would temporarily increase the federal gas tax by 5 cents per gallon to fund bridge repair around the country. We are extremely concerned that this "temporary" tax increase would turn into a permanent one. After all, President George H.W. Bush's "temporary" gas tax increase of 5 cents per gallon in 1990 never went away as promised, while lawmakers "repurposed" President Clinton's 4.3 cent-per-gallon hike when the budget seemed headed toward a surplus.

Proponents of a federal gas tax increase insist that few would even notice the change in their fuel bills. In reality, a 5 cent-per-gallon jump would represent a steep 27 percent tax hike over the current rate and cost American motorists an estimated \$25 billion over the next three years. Combined with state gas taxes, many motorists would pay over \$7.50 in taxes for the average fill-up. This is a substantial burden on families trying to make ends meet and only makes gas prices harder to stomach. Given high energy costs, now is the time to give taxpayers a lighter – not a heavier – gas tax burden.

We also reject the notion that there isn't enough money available for infrastructure upkeep. Both the federal and state governments have made record levels of transportation money available. The 2005 Highway Bill increased related funding by 42 percent, to a record \$286.5 billion. It also contained 6,500 earmarks totaling 9 percent of the bill's cost. The Fiscal Year 2008 Transportation, Housing & Urban Development and Related Agencies Appropriations Bill contained 1,434 earmarks worth over \$2.2 billion. This is money that could have been directed to real need-based priorities determined by transportation experts. Instead, it was handed out to politically connected allies. Congress's bad habit of earmarking has siphoned money away from core repair functions and into questionable projects. This reckless binge should be ended before lawmakers even consider raising gas taxes by a single penny.

Instead of resorting so readily to tax hikes, Congress and the Executive Branch should conduct a review to determine which transportation projects are really worth funding and which are unnecessary. Elected officials should not be feeding more revenues into the gears of an ever-faster spending machine, and we urge you to oppose any federal gas tax hike.

Sincerely,

John Berthoud

National Taxpayers Union

Pat Toomey Club for Growth

Thomas Schatz

Council for Citizens Against Government Waste

Grover Norquist

Americans for Tax Reform

David Keene

American Conservative Union

Tim Phillips

Americans for Prosperity

Dick Patten

American Family Business Institute

Jeffrey Mazzella

Center for Individual Freedom

Tom McClusky

Family Research Council

Ryan Ellis

American Shareholders Association

Patrick Sammon

Log Cabin Republicans

William Wilson

Americans for Limited Government

Leroy Watson

National Grange

Dane vonBreichenruchardt US Bill of Rights Foundation

Clay Barclay

Young Republican National Federation

Khaled Saffuri

Islamic Free Market Institute

William Westmiller

Republican Liberty Caucus

Chuck Muth Citizen Outreach

Eunie Smith

Eagle Forum of Alabama

Dominic M. Calabro Florida TaxWatch, Inc.

Richard O. Rowland

Grassroot Institute of Hawaii

Tom Hoefling

Idahoans for Tax Reform

Greg Blankenship Illinois Policy Institute

Curt Smith

Indiana Family Institute

David M. Stanley Iowans for Tax Relief

Kevin McLaughlin

Iowans for Discounted Taxes

Karl Peterjohn

Kansas Taxpayers Network

Richard Falknor

Maryland Taxpayers Association, Inc.

Phil Krinkie

Taxpayers League of Minnesota

Henry Kriegel

Montanans for Tax Reform

Doug Kagan

Nebraska Taxpayers for Freedom

Paul J. Gessing

Rio Grande Foundation

Matthew F. Guilbault

New York State Taxpayers Union

Bill Sizemore

Oregon Taxpayers United

Jason Williams

Taxpayer Association of Oregon

Matt Evans

Americans for Prosperity - Oregon

David Baldinger

Pennsylvania Taxpayers Cyber Coalition

Ben Cunningham

Tennessee Tax Revolt

John Taylor

Virginia Institute for Public Policy

Ray Wilson

Kalamazoo County Taxpayers Association

Douglas Bruce

Active Citizens Together

Bud Miller

Alexandria Taxpayers United

Richard Parins

Brown County Taxpayers Association

Jim Babka

DownsizeDC.org, Inc.

Keith L. Runyon

Concerned United Taxpayers

Ken Hambrick

Alliance of Contra Costa Taxpayers

Kris Hunt

Contra Costa Taxpayers Association

Kurt E. Hahn

Central Solano Citizen/Taxpayer Group

Robert L. Reed

American Spirit Enterprises Inc.

Rose Bogaert

Wayne County Taxpayers Association, Inc.

Joe Armendariz

Santa Barbara County Taxpayers Association

Tim Wise

Arlington County Taxpayers Association

Richard Rider

San Diego Tax Fighters

Matthew A. Paulsen

Bethel Action Committee

Joel Sears

York County Taxpayers Council

Rick Hendrix

Prince William Taxpayers Alliance