

June 5, 2007

Dear Representative:

The Internet has been a remarkable engine of economic growth and innovation over the past decade, in large part because it has operated as a free market without undue taxes or regulation. With the existing Internet tax moratorium set to expire in November, we urge you on behalf of our members to support extending the moratorium into a permanent ban.

The current ban prohibits taxes on Internet access, including broadband as well as dialup connections. It also prohibits discriminatory taxes that treat Internet transactions different from other transactions, as well as duplicate taxes. The ban is not a special exemption for Internet-based companies, who remain subject to broad-based taxes.

If the moratorium is allowed to expire on November 1, 2007, states will likely impose new taxes on Internet access fees, as well as bit-taxes on downloads, and perhaps even email taxes. There would be unlimited potential for taxation that would impede the flow of commerce and information on the Internet and shut down a great engine of economic growth.

The moratorium has kept consumers' Internet bills uncluttered by the myriad taxes and fees that they are forced to pay on their phone and cable bills, for instance. It is hard to argue with the clear policy success of the moratorium. Another temporary extension will leave open the possibility of such counterproductive taxes being imposed in the future. The moratorium should therefore be extended into a permanent ban that will protect Internet users from unnecessary taxation and create a more predictable policy environment.

Sincerely,

Tim Chillips

Tim Phillips President Americans for Prosperity

Jason Wright President Institute for Liberty

Grover Norquist President Americans for Tax Reform

David Keene Chairman American Conservative Union

Mark Chmura Executive Director Americans for the Preservation of Liberty

Man

Ryan Ellis Executive Director American Shareholders Association

F. dil

Andrew F. Quinlan President Center for Freedom and Prosperity

Jeffrey Mazzella President Center for Individual Freedom

Thomas Schatz

Tom Schatz President Council for Citizens Against Government Waste

Pat Toomey President The Club for Growth

Paul M. Weyrich National Chairman Coalitions for America

Matthew J. Brouillette President and CEO Commonwealth Foundation

Fred Lee Smith of

Fred L. Smith, Jr. President Competitive Enterprise Institute

John McClaughry President Ethan Allen Institute

Lon M

Tom McClusky Vice President of Government Affairs Family Research Council

Tom Kilgannon President Freedom Alliance

L

Richard O. Rowland President Grassroot Institute of Hawaii

Thomas C. Hayl

Tom Hoefling Chairman Idahoans for Tax Reform

Dr. Don Racheter Moderator Iowa Wednesday Group

Richard Falknor Executive Vice-President Maryland Taxpayers Association, Inc.

Derek Hunter Executive Director Media Freedom Project

Amy Ridenour

Amy Ridenour President National Center for Public Policy Research

Lew While

Lew Uhler President The National Tax Limitation Committee

Kristina Rasmussen Director of Government Affairs National Taxpayers Union

Jim Martin President 60 Plus Association

Karen Kerrigan President & CEO SBE Council

This Kuitie

Phil Krinkie President Taxpayers League of Minnesota

Rick Durham President Tennessee Tax Revolt